The Bells scored the final five runs of Saturday's game, including two in the ninth, to win it 5-4.

The Bells scored the final five runs of Saturday's game, including two in the ninth, to win it 5-4.

BELLINGHAM, Wash. – The Wenatchee AppleSox (7-8, 4-7) held a 4-0 lead at one point Saturday, but couldn’t hold off the Bellingham Bells (10-4, 10-4), who scored the next five to win 5-4 at Joe Martin Field.

With the win, the Bells also guarantee a series win over Wenatchee, and have won six-straight over the AppleSox.  

Wenatchee got things going offensively in the fourth inning. With the bases loaded and two outs, Scott Hilpert worked a walk out of the nine spot in the order. His RBI, coupled by a Joey Jansen 2-RBI single, gave the AppleSox a 3-0 lead heading to the bottom of the fourth.

In the fifth, the Sox added another on a bases loaded walk of Keaton Smith, which scored Mitchell Holland.

It was the beginning of a walk parade for both sides at Joe Martin Field. The AppleSox offered up reliever Dustin Hamilton in the fifth, after Kyle Blankenship walked home a pair of Bells runners with the bases loaded.

Hamilton got into two tight spots in the fifth and sixth innings, with runners making it to second and third with only one out in each frame. Both times, Hamilton was able to back out of the corner without any runs scoring.

With the bases loaded and one out in the eighth inning against reliever, Micael Taylor (0-2), the Sox pitcher got a ground ball on the infield, but a close and possibly controversial, safe call at first base kept the inning going and plated a Bells run to make the score 4-3.

In the bottom of the ninth, Taylor stayed on and Bellingham loaded up the bases with nobody out. A wild pitch scored the game’s tying run, and a Bronson Larsen single in the next at bat gave Bellingham the come-from-behind series win.

Sunday, the AppleSox play their first day game of the season. A 3:05 first pitch at Joe Martin Field. Hunter Wells will head to the hill for Wenatchee.


WP: Brice Longanecker (1-0)
LP: Micael Taylor (0-2)